Best 6U Server Rack 2026: Wall-Mount or Cabinet for a Small Office Network

When you buy through the Amazon links on this page, we may earn a commission at no extra cost to you. Learn more

Last updated October 31, 2026

The best 6U server rack for most small offices is the StarTech WALLMOUNT6: an open two-post frame that arrives fully assembled, so you hang it and start racking gear the same day. A 6U rack gives you 10.5 in (266.7 mm) of usable rail height in a 19-inch frame, which holds a patch panel, a switch, a router, a shelf and a small UPS.

The usable depth must clear your deepest device, the load rating must clear the weight you hang into studs, and the choice between an enclosed cabinet and an open frame follows from where the rack sits. If the rack sits where it must be locked, the Tripp Lite SRW6U is the enclosed pick.

The best 6U server racks of 2026

Model comparison

Model Price Rating Rack sizeWeight capacityWeight Best for
Black wall-mount network rack with open frame and mounting holes, shown from the front StarTech WALLMOUNT6 $72.99 as of 10/31 See on Amazon ★ 4.8 (3,900+ ratings) 6U44.1 lbnot stated Small-office installers who want to mount and go should pick this fully assembled open frame with lifetime warranty.
Black open frame wall mount rack with vertical rails and numbered mounting holes for server equipment NavePoint 6U wall mount rack $99.99 as of 10/31 See on Amazon ★ 4.7 (750+ ratings) 6U200 lb15.9 lb Buyers loading a small UPS or AV gear alongside network hardware need this 200 pound capacity open frame.
Black open frame wall mount rack with six rack spaces mounted on a wall Tecmojo 6U fixed wall mount rack $69.90 as of 10/31 See on Amazon ★ 4.7 (100+ ratings) 6U110 lb15.3 lb Budget-conscious buyers with a light, shallow stack get wall or floor mounting plus all hardware included here.
Black wall-mounted network cabinet with lockable front door and side panels, shown closed Tecmojo 6U wall mount cabinet $109.90 as of 10/31 See on Amazon ★ 4.6 (400+ ratings) 6Unot stated28.6 lb Shared-office buyers who need lockable access and whose deepest device stays under 14.2 in should choose this cabinet.
Black wall mount rack enclosure with front door closed, shown at an angle Tripp Lite SRW6U $243.99 as of 10/31 See on Amazon ★ 4.6 (250+ ratings) 6U200 lb32 lb Buyers wanting an enclosed cabinet with assembly done, a 5 year warranty and a full fastener kit get it here.

What 6U actually buys you in a small office

A 24-port patch panel takes 1U, a 24-port switch 1U, a router or firewall appliance 1U, a horizontal cable manager 1U, a shelf for a modem or mini PC 1U, and a 1U to 2U rack UPS takes the rest. That stack lands at 5 to 6U, so a 6U rack is full on day one for a complete network build and leaves one or two spare units for a leaner one.

That arithmetic explains why 6U is the usual sweet spot. A 4U wall box cannot take a patch panel, a switch and a UPS together. A 9U or 12U cabinet is a bigger, deeper, heavier object that most small offices do not need and cannot hang on a partition wall.

Rack units measure the same in both rack systems: 1U is 1.75 in (44.45 mm) in 19-inch and 10-inch alike, so the U count is comparable. The opening between rails is not: 17.75 in on 19-inch against roughly 8.75 in on 10-inch. A 6U rack in 19-inch takes standard network gear; a 10-inch 6U takes only mini equipment.

Equipment front panels are nominally a fraction shorter than the U count, about 1/32 in, which is why stacked gear fits with a hair of clearance rather than binding on the rails.

How deep a 6U rack needs to be for your gear

Three depths get confused at this size: the external cabinet depth, the usable rail or mounting depth, and the depth of the deepest device. Only the second one decides whether the door closes.

6U racks come in depth classes. Shallow wall-mount bodies run around 12 to 18 in (roughly 300 to 450 mm) and suit patch panels, cable managers and compact switches. Mid bodies run around 20 to 24 in (about 500 to 600 mm) and take deeper switches and short-depth rack UPS units. Deeper vertical and cabinet formats exist for longer gear.

The measuring rule is simple: find the longest device, add roughly 4 in (100 mm) behind it for power plugs, cable bend radius and rear-door clearance, and compare that total to the usable depth, not the external figure.

A 6U wall cabinet with a fixed rear panel cannot take a full-depth rack server or a full-size rack UPS. That gear needs a four-post floor rack, which sits outside this size class. Depth, not height, is what causes returns on 6U racks.

Wall-mount 6U racks and the wall you hang them on

An empty 6U open frame weighs in the region of 15 to 23 lb, an empty enclosed cabinet around 29 to 37 lb, and a loaded network stack plus cabinet typically lands at 45 to 60 lb. Put a 2U battery UPS in and the figure rises to roughly 95 to 130 lb.

Wall-mount 6U products are designed around 16-inch stud spacing, and the load must go into studs with lag screws, never into drywall anchors or toggle bolts. The wall type decides the anchor:

  • Timber studs: lag screws, with a 3/4-in plywood backer spanning the studs to spread the load.
  • Masonry: sleeve anchors sized to the rack's mounting holes.
  • Light-gauge steel studs: a backer plate or a different mounting strategy; this is the case where a floor-standing or vertical rack is the safer answer.

Before drilling, locate the studs, confirm the rack's mounting-hole spacing matches them, check for a nearby outlet and cable entry, and allow clearance for the door swing and side panels.

Swing-out and hinged 6U racks for tight closets

A fixed 6U wall rack in a shallow closet leaves no room to reach the rear of a patch panel or the back of a switch, so every cable change means unmounting gear. A swing-out or hinged design pivots the rack body away from the wall so the rear becomes accessible from the front.

Check the swing direction and the clearance it needs to open fully, whether the hinge is on the rack body or on the door, and whether the wall standoff when closed still fits the closet depth.

Hinged 6U racks are usually open-frame two-post designs, which keeps them light enough to swing. A hinged enclosed cabinet is a heavier proposition that needs a stronger wall.

Cooling and access in a 6U enclosed cabinet

A small enclosed cabinet runs hotter than a tall one because the same heat load sits in a much smaller air volume, and a 6U body has little vertical distance for a chimney effect.

The practical thresholds: under about 30 W of load, passive venting through vented doors and panels is usually enough. Between 30 and 80 W, with a PoE switch the usual culprit, you want at least one exhaust fan. Above 80 W, plan intake and exhaust fans or move to an open frame.

Leave a 1U gap around heat-generating devices where the U budget allows, use blanking panels only where fans are moving air, and check the interior temperature against the room after a week of running. If the inside sits more than about 15 to 20°F above ambient, add airflow. Numbered U positions and adjustable rails make it easier to leave those gaps and to route cables away from the fan path.

Our picks by budget

The Tecmojo 6U fixed wall mount rack is our budget pick because it includes the wall and equipment mounting hardware, the instructions and a reference video, and it can be floor-mounted when the wall is doubtful.

The NavePoint 6U wall mount rack is our mid-range pick because the extra money goes into 0.059 in (1.5 mm) cold-rolled steel and a 200 lb (91 kg) capacity, roughly double the budget frame's rating, plus both threaded and square holes on one rack.

The Tripp Lite SRW6U is our premium pick because it arrives fully assembled with a lockable enclosure, a 5-year warranty and a fastener kit that covers M6 and 12-24 gear out of the box.

Budget

Black open frame wall mount rack with six rack spaces mounted on a wall

Tecmojo 6U fixed wall mount rack

$69.90 as of 10/31 ★ 4.7 (100+ ratings)
See on Amazon

Mid-range

Black open frame wall mount rack with vertical rails and numbered mounting holes for server equipment

NavePoint 6U wall mount rack

$99.99 as of 10/31 ★ 4.7 (750+ ratings)
See on Amazon

High-end

Black wall mount rack enclosure with front door closed, shown at an angle

Tripp Lite SRW6U

$243.99 as of 10/31 ★ 4.6 (250+ ratings)
See on Amazon

Which 6U rack for which buyer

The right 6U rack follows from where it hangs and what goes in it, not from the spec sheet alone.

Fixed, shallow gear list

A patch panel, a switch and a shelf, no lock needed, and the lowest spend that still gets a mounted rack. The 110 lb rating sits well above a light stack.

Our recommendation Black open frame wall mount rack with six rack spaces mounted on a wall

Tecmojo 6U fixed wall mount rack

$69.90 as of 10/31 ★ 4.7 (100+ ratings)
See on Amazon

Mount and go, no build

You want the rack on the wall the day it arrives and a warranty that does not expire. The assembled delivery and lifetime coverage settle it.

Our recommendation Black wall-mount network rack with open frame and mounting holes, shown from the front

StarTech WALLMOUNT6

$72.99 as of 10/31 ★ 4.8 (3,900+ ratings)
See on Amazon

Heavier gear or longer devices

A deeper switch, a small UPS or AV equipment needs load headroom and a stiffer frame. The 200 lb capacity and about 0.06 in (1.5 mm) steel give both.

Our recommendation Black open frame wall mount rack with vertical rails and numbered mounting holes for server equipment

NavePoint 6U wall mount rack

$99.99 as of 10/31 ★ 4.7 (750+ ratings)
See on Amazon

Shared or semi-public space

The rack sits where visitors and cleaners pass, so it needs a lock and dust protection, and the deepest device stays under 14.2 in.

Our recommendation Black wall-mounted network cabinet with lockable front door and side panels, shown closed

Tecmojo 6U wall mount cabinet

$109.90 as of 10/31 ★ 4.6 (400+ ratings)
See on Amazon

Enclosed, assembled, long warranty

You want a lockable cabinet that arrives built, with the most complete fastener kit in the box and a 5-year warranty.

Our recommendation Black wall mount rack enclosure with front door closed, shown at an angle

Tripp Lite SRW6U

$243.99 as of 10/31 ★ 4.6 (250+ ratings)
See on Amazon

Our verdict on the best 6U server rack

The best 6U rack is the one whose usable depth clears your deepest device and whose load rating clears your loaded weight into studs. On that check the StarTech WALLMOUNT6 wins for most small offices: it arrives assembled, carries a lifetime warranty and takes standard 19-inch network gear without a build step.

If the budget is tight and the stack is light, the Tecmojo 6U fixed wall mount rack does the job and can go on the floor. If the rack must be locked, the Tripp Lite SRW6U brings the enclosure, the keys and a 5-year warranty already fitted.

The check that saves the most returns: measure the deepest device, add 4 in, and compare that to the usable depth rather than the external figure.

Detailed model analysis

A 6U rack is a small, shallow box, so the specs that decide it are usable depth, load rating and whether it arrives built.

StarTech WALLMOUNT6

The StarTech WALLMOUNT6 suits you if you want to hang a rack and get on with the job. It ships fully assembled, so there is no frame to build before you find the studs.

The mounting holes sit 16 in apart, matching standard drywall stud spacing. Twelve M6 screws and twelve M6 cage nuts come with it, so you skip the hardware store.

It is an open two-post frame made of cold-rolled steel, so gear mounts straight onto the posts. Slim 19 in equipment such as patch panels, switches and routers fits well.

Equipment can reach only 13.78 in deep, so a long server will not fit. There is no door or lock, and it is made for wall mounting only, not for standing on the floor.

If you need a lock, look at the Tripp Lite SRW6U or the Tecmojo 6U wall mount cabinet instead.

A lifetime warranty and free lifetime 24/5 multilingual technical help back it. It suits small-office installers who want a fast wall install.

  • Brand: StarTech
  • Rack size: 6U
  • Mounting type: Wall mount
  • Max depth: 13.8 in
  • Weight capacity: 44.1 lb
  • Material: Steel

NavePoint 6U wall mount rack

The NavePoint 6U wall mount rack is the open frame for heavy loads. It supports up to 200 lb, the same top rating as the Tripp Lite SRW6U and well above both Tecmojo models.

The steel frame has a 2-post open design. It is 16 in deep and weighs 15.9 lb. Mounting holes are threaded on one side and square on the other. It meets CE, DIN 41494, EIA/ECA-310-E and IEC-60297-3-100 standards.

Cable management slots and points keep cables organized, and the open design lets air move around your gear.

It arrives flat-packed with the assembly hardware, so you build it before hanging it. The StarTech WALLMOUNT6 and Tripp Lite SRW6U ship assembled. The Tecmojo 6U fixed wall mount rack is also flat-packed.

With no door, it gives no protection against anyone who can reach the wall. That matters in a shared room.

It suits buyers who hang a small UPS or AV gear beside network hardware and can spend time on a short assembly.

  • Brand: NavePoint
  • Rack size: 6U
  • Mounting type: Wall mount
  • Depth: 16 in
  • Weight capacity: 200 lb
  • Weight: 15.9 lb

Tecmojo 6U fixed wall mount rack

The Tecmojo 6U fixed wall mount rack is an open frame for a light, shallow stack of gear. It is 15.8 in deep and weighs 15.3 lb.

The frame is cold rolled steel with a powder coat finish that protects against rust and corrosion. The open design lets air flow through your equipment.

Mounting holes are both 12-24 threaded and square, so more kinds of gear will fit. It follows the EIA/ECA-310-E standard.

The rating is 110 lb, so keep the load light. It is an open frame with no door and no lock.

It arrives flat-packed with wall and equipment mounting hardware, instructions, and rear brackets that add stability. A video explains the assembly, and a 3 year manufacturer warranty covers it.

It suits buyers who do not need a lock and can spend time on assembly.

  • Brand: Tecmojo
  • Rack size: 6U
  • Dimensions: 15.8 in deep, 19.9 in wide and 13.7 in high
  • Weight: 15.3 lb
  • Weight capacity: 110 lb
  • Mounting: Wall mount

Tecmojo 6U wall mount cabinet

The Tecmojo 6U wall mount cabinet is the enclosed option for a shared space. Its glass front door and side panels lock, so your switch is not open to anyone who walks by.

The door can hang on either side. Mounting rails adjust, and numbered U positions with square holes make lining up gear easier. A built-in cooling fan moves air, and top and bottom punch-out panels route cables.

Equipment can be at most 14.2 in deep, even though the cabinet is 17.72 in deep overall. The cabinet is 13.78 in high.

It weighs 28.6 lb and holds up to 110 lb, below the 200 lb of the Tripp Lite SRW6U. It ships flat-packed with assembly hardware, while the Tripp Lite SRW6U arrives assembled.

A 3 year manufacturer warranty covers it. That is shorter than the 5 years on the Tripp Lite SRW6U.

It suits shared-office buyers who need lockable access and whose deepest device stays under 14.2 in.

  • Brand: Tecmojo
  • Rack size: 6U
  • Mounting type: Wall mount
  • Dimensions: 17.7 in deep, 21.7 in wide and 13.8 in high
  • Weight: 28.6 lb
  • Load capacity: 110 lb

Tripp Lite SRW6U

The Tripp Lite SRW6U is the enclosed cabinet to pick when the rack must be locked. It comes with a door, side panels and 2 keys, so your gear stays out of reach of people passing through.

It ships fully assembled, like the StarTech WALLMOUNT6, while the NavePoint 6U wall mount rack and both Tecmojo models arrive flat-packed. You skip the build and go straight to mounting.

A maximum load of 200 lb matches the NavePoint 6U wall mount rack and sits well above the rating on each Tecmojo model. A removable mounting plate, M6 screws, cage nuts, cup washers and 12-24 screws come with it.

A 5 year warranty backs it, longer than the 3 years on each Tecmojo model but shorter than the lifetime coverage on the StarTech WALLMOUNT6.

Size is the trade-off. The cabinet weighs 32 lb before any gear goes in, so you need solid anchoring. The Tecmojo 6U wall mount cabinet adds a built-in cooling fan.

It suits buyers who want an enclosed, locked cabinet that arrives assembled.

  • Brand: Tripp Lite
  • Rack size: 6U
  • Mounting: Wall mount
  • Weight capacity: 200 lb
  • Material: Alloy steel
  • Weight: 32 lb

Frequently asked questions

Most 6U rack questions come down to the same two numbers: 10.5 inches of rail height and the depth behind the rails.

What are the dimensions of a 6U rack?

The usable rail height is 10.5 in (266.7 mm) and the frame is 19 inches wide. The outside of a cabinet is bigger: expect 13 to 15 inches high and 17 to 24 inches deep depending on the model.

What should I check on a 6U rack's rails before I order cage nuts and screws?

Check the hole type first, because it decides the hardware you buy. Threaded holes take machine screws directly, while square holes need cage nuts clipped in before the screws go through. Some racks carry both types, one on each rail, so they can take screwed-in gear and cage-nut mounted gear together. Count the fasteners against the number of devices you plan to fit, since the included kit may not cover every unit you fill.

Can I mount a 6U rack on drywall?

No. Drywall anchors and toggle bolts pull out under a loaded rack. Fix the rack into studs with lag screws, or into masonry with sleeve anchors, and use a plywood backer across the studs to spread the load.

Do 6U racks come assembled?

It varies by model. Some ship fully assembled and ready to hang, others arrive flat-packed with the hardware to build them, so check before ordering if you do not want to assemble.

How do I pick a swing-out 6U rack for a shallow closet?

Measure the closet depth against the standoff the rack leaves when shut, and check which way the body pivots and how much room it needs to open fully. Look at whether the hinge is fitted to the frame or to the door, because that changes how the rack moves. Hinged 6U racks are usually open two-post frames, so they stay light enough to swing, while a hinged enclosed cabinet is heavier and demands a stronger wall.