Best Half-Rack Server Cabinet 2026: Full-Depth Mounting in a Half-Height Frame
When you buy through the Amazon links on this page, we may earn a commission at no extra cost to you. Learn more
Last updated October 31, 2026
The StarTech 4POSTRACK25U is the best half-rack server cabinet for most buyers who need full-depth mounting in a half-height, floor-standing frame: its four posts adjust from 22 to 40 inches front to back, so a full-length server is supported at both ends, and the frame stands 48 inches tall without casters. If the cabinet has to be enclosed and lockable, the StarTech RK2236BKF does the same job behind a glass door at 46.6 inches tall.
Half rack means half height, not half width or half depth. A cabinet sold under that label is still a full 19-inch-wide unit, and the shallow ones built for switches will not take a server chassis.
The best half-rack server cabinets for 2026
StarTech 4POSTRACK25U
See on Amazon
AXA AxcessAbles RK22U network rack
See on Amazon
NavePoint 25U 2-Post open frame rack
See on AmazonModel comparison
| Model | Price | Rating | Rack height | Weight | Material | Best for | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| StarTech 4POSTRACK25U | $334.99 as of 10/31 See on Amazon | ★ 4.7 (2,000+ ratings) | 25U | 65.36 lb (29.65 kg) | not stated | Home lab and small office builders needing full-depth server mounting at chest height get four rails adjustable from 22 to 40 inches. |
| AXA AxcessAbles RK22U network rack | $249.99 as of 10/31 See on Amazon | ★ 4.5 (550+ ratings) | 22U | not stated | Metal | AV techs and home theater owners with shallow gear get 18-inch depth and 550 lb on a rolling frame. |
| NavePoint 25U 2-Post open frame rack | $225.99 as of 10/31 See on Amazon | ★ 4.6 (200+ ratings) | 25U | not stated | Alloy steel | Wiring-closet and lab buyers mounting patch panels and front-only network gear get an open two-post frame with unrestricted side access. |
| Tecmojo 20U open frame rack with shelves | $139.90 as of 10/31 See on Amazon | ★ 4.4 (450+ ratings) | not stated | 35.4 lb | Alloy steel | First-time rack buyers wanting a documented build get a 3-year warranty, manual, drilling template and assembly video. |
| StarTech RK2236BKF | $788.99 as of 10/31 See on Amazon | ★ 4.3 (250+ ratings) | not stated | 138 lb (62.6 kg) | not stated | Shared rooms needing locked gear get a vented glass door, removable side panels and lifetime warranty cover. |
What a half rack actually is in U terms
A half rack is defined by height, not by width or depth. It is a full 19-inch-wide cabinet that stops somewhere between roughly 9U and 22U, against 42U or 48U for a full rack. The label is a market convention rather than a standard, so buy by U count and depth, not by the word on the box.
One rack unit is 1.75 inches (44.45 mm). That gives the ladder buyers actually need: 9U is about 15.75 inches of rail space, 12U about 21 inches, 18U about 31.5 inches, 20U about 35 inches, 22U about 38.5 inches and 25U about 43.75 inches.
Rail space is not external height
The outside of the cabinet adds the top panel, the base, the door frame and the casters, so external height runs several inches above the rail figure. A 22U enclosed cabinet can stand 46.6 inches tall and a 25U open frame 48 inches without casters and 50.8 inches with them. If you are checking whether the cabinet fits under a shelf or beside a desk, use external height. If you are checking whether your gear fits, use rail space.
What the U count means next to a desk
A 9U to 12U cabinet is the band that can sit beside or beneath a desk. From 18U up, the top of the cabinet reaches roughly counter height or above, which works next to a desk but not under one. The same U count also comes in very different depths, so height alone never tells you whether a server will fit.
Why full-depth mounting changes the cabinet you need
Full-depth mounting means the four vertical rails are set far enough apart front to back that a full-length server chassis is supported at both ends instead of cantilevered off a front pair. That takes a four-post frame. A two-post frame holds equipment by the front ears only and is not a full-depth mount.
The market is full of shallow half-height cabinets built for patch panels and switches, typically around 18 inches of usable depth. They are legitimately sold as network cabinets and they will not take a full-length server. The spec that separates the two is the adjustable mounting depth range, not the external depth: the rails have to be able to move to the span the chassis needs.
Rear clearance is part of the mount
Power cables, network cables and exhaust airflow all live behind the rear rail. A cabinet that is exactly as deep as the chassis has no room for any of them, so the enclosure has to be deeper than the server by a working margin. Cable management arms and stiff power cords eat the most space.
Deep and short at the same time
A half rack that genuinely mounts full-depth gear is usually a four-post open frame or a deep enclosed cabinet, and in some 20U to 25U configurations it is deeper than it is tall. A 25U frame can be 44.1 inches deep while standing 48 inches tall, and a 22U enclosed cabinet can be 39.37 inches deep at 46.6 inches tall. Plan the floor footprint for a full rack, not for a small box.
Desk-height half racks versus floor-standing half racks
Two different products share the half-rack label. Desk-height cabinets, roughly 9U to 15U, are sized so the working area lands at or below a standard desk surface. They usually sit beside a desk, in a closet or under a workbench, and they are often light enough for two people to reposition.
Floor-standing half racks, roughly 18U to 27U, stand on their own base and put the top rail at roughly 40 inches to 4 feet. That is the band where full-length servers and a UPS realistically live together.
Access and clearance
A desk-height cabinet is worked on from a seated or kneeling position and its top is reachable. A floor-standing half rack is worked on standing, but its lowest U sits near the floor. A desk-height unit needs front door swing plus room to slide it out. A floor-standing unit needs front and rear service clearance, because you will be at the back of it regularly.
Where the load rests
A desk-height cabinet keeps its mass low and close to the floor, which is inherently stable. A floor-standing half rack carries its heaviest items, the UPS and the servers, in the lower third, and its light items up top. That distribution is what keeps it from being top-heavy. Put the heaviest equipment at the bottom and treat the top 1U to 2U of any half rack as light-gear-only space.
Depth and clearance for full-length servers in a short cabinet
Measure the deepest chassis you intend to mount, add rear clearance for power and data cabling plus exhaust airflow, add front clearance for the door or front rail, and compare that total to the cabinet's usable depth rather than its external depth. Leave a working margin instead of aiming at an exact number.
Depth bands map to equipment. Shallow cabinets around 18 inches (450 mm) take patch panels and switches only. Mid-depth cabinets around 24 to 32 inches (600 to 800 mm) take short-depth servers and a UPS. Standard depth around 32 to 39 inches (800 to 1000 mm) takes typical 1U and 2U servers with cabling room. Deep cabinets at 39 inches (1000 mm) and up take full-length servers and cable management arms.
Why rear access gets harder, not easier
In a full rack you stand behind it and work at chest height across 42U. In a half rack the rear rail sits low, so the bottom U are reached by kneeling and the top U by bending. If the cabinet is pushed against a wall or into a corner, the rear is effectively inaccessible. Plan rear clearance as a fixed requirement before the cabinet is placed.
Doors, stairs and floors
Measure the narrowest door, the stair turn and the floor transition before ordering. Then decide whether the cabinet arrives flat-packed, which lets you carry it in pieces and assemble it in place, or assembled, which needs a clear path at full external size. A 39-inch-deep cabinet will not turn a tight corner in one piece.
Anchoring a half rack when it is not wall mounted
A half rack that stands on the floor stays upright through its base footprint, its center of gravity and whatever fixes it to the building. Wall mounting is one option. When the cabinet is free-standing, the alternatives are floor anchoring with a base plate bolted to the slab, leveling feet for stability on an uneven floor without penetration, and casters for repositioning.
Anchoring is the right call when the cabinet is tall relative to its footprint, when it holds heavy equipment high in the frame, when it sits where it could be leaned on or bumped in a workshop, shared office or corridor, or when the floor is uneven enough that feet alone rock. Feet or casters are enough for a low, wide, desk-height cabinet with the heavy gear at the bottom, on a level floor, out of traffic.
Top-heavy loading decides it
A UPS and the servers belong in the lowest U. A half rack loaded light at the bottom and heavy at the top is the one that tips. The load plan and the anchoring decision are the same decision, so settle both before the cabinet is filled.
Casters are for positioning
A rolling cabinet should be re-checked for stability once it is loaded, and the front casters locked. Casters move the cabinet into place; they are not a permanent rolling installation. A wall-mounted half rack is a different product class with its own weight limits, and a cabinet designed to stand on the floor should not be hung on a wall.
Our picks by budget
The Tecmojo 20U is our budget pick because it is the least expensive way to get 20U of 19-inch rail space, and it works on the floor or on a wall, with a 3-year warranty and a drilling template in the box.
The Axa Axcessables RK22U is our mid-range pick because it adds a real enclosure, locking casters and a 550 lb rating to the half-rack format, and it ships with hardware for both about 0.20 in (5 mm) and about 0.24 in (6 mm) rack standards.
The StarTech RK2236BKF is our premium pick because it pairs a four-post full-depth frame with a lockable vented glass door at a 46.6-inch external height, backed by a lifetime warranty.
Budget
Mid-range
High-end
Which half rack for which buyer
The right half rack follows from what you are mounting and where the cabinet will stand, not from the U count alone.
Home lab with full-length servers
You have one or two full-length servers and a UPS in a spare room or basement, and you want them enclosed and locked. The 46.6-inch external height keeps the top at a workable level and the four posts carry the chassis at both ends.
Full-depth frame, rear access
You want full-depth capacity without doors in the way, or you plan to add your own enclosure later. The rails adjust from 22 to 40 inches, the stationary rating is 1,200 lb, and you choose casters, feet or a bolted base plate.
Network and AV on wheels
Your gear is switches, patch panels, a shallow chassis or a receiver, and you want a lockable cabinet that rolls. Every device has to be 18 inches deep or less.
Small office or classroom frame
You need a light, expandable frame for shelves and small gear, wall-mounted or on the floor, and the total stays inside 130 lb on the wall or 260 lb on the ground.
Patch panels and cable routing
You are building a wiring closet and only need front-mounted network gear with open access to cables and airflow. A two-post frame is enough and costs less than a four-post cabinet.
Our verdict on the best half-rack server cabinet
Depth first, then U, then anchoring. A half rack that is the right height but too shallow is the most common mistake in this category, and it is the one that costs a return.
For full-depth mounting in a half-height frame, the StarTech 4POSTRACK25U is the overall pick: a four-post frame with a 22 to 40 inch mounting depth range, 1,200 lb stationary, and a 48-inch height without casters. The StarTech RK2236BKF is the pick when the cabinet has to be enclosed and locked: it pairs a four-post full-depth frame with a lockable cabinet at a sub-4-foot external height. The Axa Axcessables RK22U is the value pick for network and AV gear on wheels, the Tecmojo 20U is the budget frame for shelves and small devices, and the NavePoint 25U covers the two-post patch-panel case.
Before ordering, run the checklist: deepest chassis plus rear cabling plus door clearance equals required usable depth; gear U plus headroom equals required U; heaviest items at the bottom; rear access planned before the cabinet is placed.
Detailed model analysis
A half rack only earns the name server cabinet when its rails reach far enough back to carry a full-length chassis.
StarTech 4POSTRACK25U
The StarTech 4POSTRACK25U suits long servers best. Its four posts adjust from 22 to 40 inches front to back, so a full-length chassis is supported at both ends.
It stands 48 inches tall without casters and 50.8 inches with them, with 25U of mounting space in a standard 19 in width. It holds 1200 lb as a stationary load.
Four casters and four leveling feet are included. The pre-drilled base lets you bolt the frame to the floor instead. Open sides keep cabling easy to reach. The frame weighs about 65.4 lb (29.65 kg).
The box adds 32 cage nuts, 32 M6 screws, 12 cable management hooks and 4 grounding wires. It follows EIA/ECA-310-E, IEC 60297 and DIN 41494, and carries a 2-year warranty.
The main limit is no doors or side panels, so nothing locks at the rack level. It also ships flat-pack, so you assemble it yourself.
It suits home lab and small office builders who want full-length servers and can do without a lockable enclosure.
- Brand: StarTech
- Rack height: 25U
- Weight capacity: 1200 lb (544 kg)
- Mounting depth: 22 in to 40 in (56.0 cm to 101.7 cm)
- Height with casters: 50.8 in (129 cm)
- Weight: 65.36 lb (29.65 kg)
AXA AxcessAbles RK22U network rack
The AXA AXCESSABLES RK22U is a rolling frame for shallow gear. It holds equipment up to 18 inches deep, so it will not take a full-length server chassis.
You get 22U on a 19 in standard, with front and rear rails. It measures 18 in deep, 20 in wide and 45 in high with its wheels.
The rails take both American and European hole sizes. Screws for both come in the box, along with a 1U blank panel.
Its 3 in casters let you roll it across a room, and the front casters lock. The rack weighs about 52.0 lb (23.59 kg). The open metal frame keeps cables and gear easy to reach from either side.
There is no door. If you need a lock, the StarTech RK2236BKF has a lockable glass door. AXCESSABLES drawers and shelves fit but are not included. The warranty runs 1 year.
It suits AV techs and home theater owners with shallow gear who want a rolling frame and can skip a locking door.
- Brand: Axa Axcessables
- Rack height: 22U
- Rail width: 19 in
- Max equipment depth: 18 in
- Material: Metal
- Caster size: 3 in
NavePoint 25U 2-Post open frame rack
The NavePoint 25U 2-Post rack gives you 25U in a two-post open frame. It holds front-mounted gear such as patch panels and switches, with open access on both sides, and works with 19 in rackmount equipment.
It is too shallow for a full-length server. The StarTech 4POSTRACK25U also offers 25U, but with four posts and mounting depth adjustable from 22 to 40 inches.
Capacity is 881 lb, for stationary loads only. The StarTech 4POSTRACK25U is rated for 1200 lb and the StarTech RK2236BKF for 1764 lb, both also stationary.
Made of alloy steel with a black powder coating finish, it mounts to the floor. A self-squaring design with bolt-down capability keeps it steady, and it ships flat-packed with the hardware needed to assemble it.
One rail side has threaded holes and the other has universal square holes. Cable hooks are included. With no doors or side panels, nothing locks, but cables and airflow are easy to reach.
It suits wiring-closet and lab buyers who mount patch panels and front-only network gear, without full-length servers.
- Brand: NavePoint
- Rack height: 25U
- Weight capacity: 881 lb
- Dimensions: 14.3 in deep, 20 in wide and 49 in high
- Material: Alloy steel
- Mounting: Floor mount
Tecmojo 20U open frame rack with shelves
The Tecmojo 20U open frame rack suits networking, audio and video gear rather than full-depth servers. It comes with two 1U shelves, ventilated and with a back support.
Floor standing, it takes up to 260 lb. Wall mounted, the limit drops to 130 lb. Plan around these capacities before you load heavy servers. The rack weighs 35.4 lb.
You can mount it on a wall or stand it on the floor, and a mounting-hole drilling template comes with it. A top panel adds space on the frame.
Four anti-slip shelf stops, four velcro straps and a set of equipment screws are included. It is compatible with other racks for stacking and expansion, sold separately.
A manual and an online assembly video walk you through the build. The warranty runs 3 years. It suits first-time rack buyers who want a compact setup.
Being open frame, it has no lockable enclosure, and its 20U height gives less room than the 22U and 25U racks.
- Brand: Tecmojo
- Rack size: 20U
- Dimensions: 20.15 in deep, 20.47 in wide and 35.03 in high
- Weight: 35.4 lb
- Material: Alloy steel
- Load capacity: 130 lb wall mounted
StarTech RK2236BKF
The StarTech RK2236BKF is the only enclosed cabinet in the group. Its front door is lockable and vented, with a glass window, and the rear door is mesh.
Removable side panels have independent lock and quick-release mechanisms. Three sets of keys come in the box, so gear stays locked in a shared room.
It is rated for 1764 lb as a stationary load, the highest stated capacity in the group. It weighs about 138.0 lb (62.6 kg) and has four casters and four leveling feet.
You get 22U, with rail depth settable as low as 5.7 in. It takes EIA-310 compliant 19 in rackmount devices. Cooling is passive, through the vented top and doors, and ceiling and floor ports route cables.
It ships flat-packed, so assembly is needed. The box holds 20 cage nuts, 20 M6 screws and PVC cup washers. A lifetime warranty and free lifetime 24/5 technical support are included.
It is heavier than the StarTech 4POSTRACK25U, which weighs about 65.4 lb, and offers three fewer rack units. It suits shared rooms and offices that need locked gear.
- Brand: StarTech
- Rack space: 22U
- Mounting depth: 5.7 to 33 in (14.4 to 83.8 cm)
- Static load capacity: 1764 lb (800 kg)
- Weight: 138 lb (62.6 kg)
- Rack width: 19 in
Frequently asked questions
Height, depth and anchoring are the three answers that decide whether a half rack works in your space.
How many U is a half rack?
There is no fixed standard. Half-height cabinets are sold from about 9U to 27U, with 18U to 25U the common band for floor-standing units and 9U to 15U for desk-height ones. The smallest are around 9U, the largest about 27U, and the rail space you get is 1.75 inches per U.
Does a half rack save floor space?
No. It saves height. Width stays at the 19-inch standard and depth can reach 39 to 44 inches, so the floor footprint is close to a full rack's.
What is the difference between a two-post and a four-post half rack?
A two-post frame suits patch panels and network gear, with no rear support for a long chassis. A four-post frame supports the chassis at both ends, which is what full-depth mounting requires.
How much weight can a half rack hold?
It varies enormously by design: around 130 lb wall-mounted and 260 lb floor-standing on a light open frame, 550 lb on a wheeled enclosed network cabinet, 1,200 lb stationary on a four-post open frame. Check whether the rating is stationary or rolling.
Can I expand a half rack later?
Some designs are built for it. The 20U open frame is stackable and expandable, and the 25U four-post frame is assembled from center and corner sections. Check the construction before assuming you can add height.