Best 24U Server Rack 2026: Wall-Mount or Floor-Standing for a Small Office
When you buy through the Amazon links on this page, we may earn a commission at no extra cost to you. Learn more
Last updated October 31, 2026
Our top pick for most small offices is the StarTech RACK-24U-20-WALL-OA open frame, because it fits 24U of gear on a solid wall without using any floor space, runs cooler than a closed cabinet and costs the least at this size. A 24U rack stands roughly 46 to 49 in tall overall, which is the largest size that still fits a closet, a basement corner or an office wall without a dedicated room.
If you would rather keep servers behind a door on the floor, the StarTech RK2433BKM is the pick: a floor-standing enclosed cabinet with a 4-post frame, a mesh front door, a 1U shelf, casters and leveling feet in the box. For a home lab or studio that wants shelves and a drawer in a compact footprint, the Oceanhug 24U server rack suits that profile.
The best 24U server racks for 2026
StarTech RACK-24U-20-WALL-OA open frame rack
See on Amazon
StarTech RK2433BKM
See on Amazon
Tripp Lite SR24UB
See on AmazonModel comparison
| Model | Price | Rating | Weight capacity | Material | Weight | Best for | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| StarTech RACK-24U-20-WALL-OA open frame rack | $317.02 as of 10/31 See on Amazon | ★ 4.7 (400+ ratings) | 200 lb | Cold rolled steel | 42 lb | Network closet owners with shallow switches and patch panels get 24U of wall-mounted height without floor space. |
| StarTech RK2433BKM | $949.99 as of 10/31 See on Amazon | ★ 4.4 (100+ ratings) | 992.1 lb (450 kg) | not stated | 130 lb (59 kg) | Small offices wanting servers behind a locking mesh door get a 4-post cabinet with shelf, casters and feet included. |
| Tripp Lite SR24UB | $1,135.91 as of 10/31 See on Amazon | ★ 3.9 (30+ ratings) | 1000 lb | Alloy steel | 136.7 lb | Admins servicing locked equipment often get a fully assembled mid-depth enclosure with numbered rails and cable ports. |
| OCEANHUG 24U server rack | $323.49 as of 10/31 See on Amazon | ★ 4.1 (19 ratings) | 500 lb | Alloy steel | not stated | Home lab and studio builders wanting shelves and a quiet drawer get a compact 4-post frame that tucks into corners. |
What 24U actually measures in a server rack
A rack unit, or U, is 1.75 in (44.45 mm) of vertical mounting space. Twenty-four of them give 42 in (1067 mm) of mounting height, which is the figure to hold on to when you compare racks. The external height is taller: the top panel, base, plinth, casters or feet all add to it, so a 24U rack typically stands around 46 to 49 in (roughly 1.2 to 1.3 m) overall.
The 19 in figure is the rail-to-rail dimension, not the cabinet width. An enclosed cabinet is usually about 23.6 in (600 mm) wide outside, while an open frame is narrower. Two 24U racks can differ in depth, width and height, so 24U describes capacity, not a fixed box.
Why 24U is the middle ground between 12U and 42U
A 12U wall cabinet holds a switch, a patch panel and a small UPS and little else. A 42U rack gives 73.5 in of mounting space, needs a dedicated room, a tall ceiling and a doorway it can pass through upright. A 24U rack sits between them: enough units for a mixed network-and-server load, short enough to stand under a low ceiling, in a closet or against an office wall, and small enough to move through a standard doorway.
The capacity gap is real. A 42U rack offers roughly 75% more vertical space than a 24U, so if you expect to fill more than about two-thirds of a 24U within a couple of years, the larger size is worth planning for. For most small offices, 24U is the practical ceiling for a rack that is not in a dedicated room.
Our picks by budget
The StarTech RACK-24U-20-WALL-OA is our budget pick because it delivers 24U of mounting height for the least outlay, with the best airflow and access of any style, and no floor space used.
The StarTech RK2433BKM is our mid-range pick because it adds a real 4-post enclosed structure, a mesh door, a 1U shelf, casters and leveling feet in one box, which is the step up most small offices need.
The Tripp Lite SR24UB is our premium pick because it arrives fully assembled with locking doors and panels, numbered square-hole rails, cable routing ports and a 1,000 lb rating for a fully loaded rack.
Budget
Mid-range
High-end
Which 24U rack for which buyer
Matching the rack to the load and the space avoids buying more cabinet than the room can take.
Tight space, light network load
You have a solid wall and your gear is switches, patch panels and shallow units. The open frame puts 24U on the wall with no floor footprint and the best airflow.
Small office with servers
You want a proper cabinet on the floor with a 4-post structure, a mesh door and a shelf included. It takes standard short and mid-depth servers and keeps dust off the gear.
Business or lab needing security
Equipment has to be locked, serviced often and cabled neatly. The locking doors and panels, numbered rails, cable ports and 1,000 lb rating cover a fully populated rack, and it arrives assembled.
Home lab or studio with storage
You want shelves and a drawer for tools and spares, and a compact footprint in a corner. The semi-open design keeps airflow easy and the drawer is lined to stay quiet.
Our verdict on the best 24U server rack
For most small offices, the StarTech RACK-24U-20-WALL-OA open frame is the default recommendation: it puts 42 in of mounting height on a solid wall with no floor footprint, the best airflow of any style and the lowest outlay at this size. For a small office that wants servers behind a door, the StarTech RK2433BKM is the pick: a 4-post enclosed cabinet with a mesh door, a shelf, casters and leveling feet included. When equipment must be locked, serviced often and cabled neatly, the Tripp Lite SR24UB is the one to choose. The rule is simple: wall-mount only if the wall and the load allow it, otherwise stand the rack on the floor.
Detailed model analysis
A 24U rack is a long-term purchase for the room, so the style, the depth and the load rating matter more than the unit count.
StarTech RACK-24U-20-WALL-OA open frame rack
The StarTech RACK-24U-20-WALL-OA mounts on the wall, so all 24U stays off your floor. That helps in a small office or a data closet where every square foot counts.
It is a 2-post, 19 in frame measuring 20 in deep and 19.8 in wide, and it weighs 42 lb. The SPCC cold-rolled steel frame is open, so air moves freely and you reach your gear from every side.
The mounting depth adjusts from 12 to 20 in, which suits shallow switches and patch panels. At full depth there is room at the back for shelves and cable management.
M6 square cage nuts and M6 screws come in the box. It ships flat packed and needs assembly. Switches, servers, patch panels and PDUs fit, though none are included.
The frame holds up to 200 lb and is an open frame with no doors or side panels, so nothing locks your equipment away. The 20 in maximum depth also rules out long servers.
It suits small offices and network closets with light, shallow gear that needs 24U of height. StarTech adds a 5-year warranty and free lifetime 24/5 North America based tech support.
- Brand: StarTech
- Rack height: 24U
- Weight capacity: 200 lb
- Mounting depth: 12 to 20 in adjustable
- Material: Cold rolled steel
- Weight: 42 lb
StarTech RK2433BKM
The StarTech RK2433BKM is a floor-standing 4-post cabinet with a lockable mesh door. It ships fully assembled, and two keys are included.
It weighs about 130 lb (59 kg). Casters and leveling feet come with it, so you can move it and then steady it.
The rails adjust from 1.8 to 29 in deep. The cabinet holds up to 992.1 lb when it sits still, which leaves room for heavy servers.
The mesh doors are reversible, and the side panels come off with quick-release locks. A 1U fixed shelf, 10 ft of hook and loop cable tie, cable holes with covers, M6 cage nuts and screws are included.
It fits EIA/ECA-310-E 19 in equipment such as servers, switches and routers. Gear that does not mount in a rack can sit on the shelf.
It carries a 5-year warranty. It suits small offices that want a locked, rolling floor cabinet with a shelf already included.
- Brand: StarTech
- Rack units: 24U
- Weight capacity: 992.1 lb (450 kg)
- Rack width: 19 in
- Weight: 130 lb (59 kg)
- Doors: Lockable mesh
Tripp Lite SR24UB
The Tripp Lite SR24UB is a mid-depth floor enclosure with the highest load rating of the racks we rank: 1000 lb with the included installation hardware.
Rails adjust from 3 to 32.5 in deep. Mounting holes are square and each rack space is numbered, so lining up gear is easy. The front door is reversible, and the door and side panels lock.
The door, side panels, top and bottom are perforated or vented for airflow, and top and bottom ports route cables. The enclosure meets all requirements toward PCI DSS compliance. Fans are not included.
It ships fully assembled and weighs 136.7 lb. Four casters, four levelers, 50 M6 screws, 50 M6 cage nuts, 50 M6 washers and 2 keys are included.
The main limit is depth: 32.5 in is the most the rails allow, so very deep gear will not fit. At 136.7 lb it is also heavy to move into place.
It suits small offices that need to lock heavy servers away. It works with Tripp Lite Smart Rack accessories and carries a 5-year limited warranty.
- Brand: Tripp Lite
- Rack capacity: 24U
- Weight capacity: 1000 lb
- Mounting depth: 3 in to 32.5 in adjustable
- Weight: 136.7 lb
- Material: Alloy steel
OCEANHUG 24U server rack
The OCEANHUG 24U server rack is a compact 4-post cabinet on wheels, built around a 2U drawer and two full-size shelves.
It measures 19.7 in wide, 19.7 in deep and 48.8 in high, so it tucks into a corner or a small room. It supports up to 500 lb of equipment.
The 2U drawer has damped slides, and its bottom is lined with sound-dampening foam. The two shelves mount on the frame, which adds stability and resists distortion.
Four casters let you roll it, and leveling feet hold it steady once it is parked. The one-piece top and bottom panels have ventilation holes for airflow.
The design is semi-closed and semi-open. Unlike the StarTech RK2433BKM, it is not a fully enclosed cabinet, so it offers less shielding for your gear.
The warranty is 2 years, against 5 years for the StarTech RK2433BKM, the Tripp Lite SR24UB and the StarTech RACK-24U-20-WALL-OA open frame rack. Its 500 lb rating is also lower than the Tripp Lite SR24UB's.
Assembly is required. Screws, nuts and instructions are included, along with the casters and leveling feet.
It suits home labs, studios and offices that want shelves and a drawer in a small footprint.
- Brand: Oceanhug
- Rack size: 24U
- Weight capacity: 500 lb
- Dimensions: 19.7 in deep, 19.7 in wide and 48.8 in high
- Material: Alloy steel
- Color: Black
Frequently asked questions
Most 24U buying mistakes come down to depth and wall strength, so check both before you order.
How tall is a 24U server rack?
The mounting height is 42 in (1067 mm). The cabinet itself stands taller once the top, base and feet or casters are counted, usually between 46 and 49 in overall.
How many inches is 24U, and how do you convert U to inches?
Multiply the number of units by 1.75 in. Twenty-four units give 42 in. The same rule works for any size: 12U is 21 in, 42U is 73.5 in.
How many servers fit in a 24U rack?
Plan on roughly 14 to 18 units of gear in a typical mixed setup, which means a couple of servers at most once the network gear, power and cabling are counted.
Is 24U enough for a home lab or a small office?
It is enough when your day-one load is around 14 to 18 units. That leaves spare space for growth without moving to a full-height rack that needs its own room.
24U vs 42U: when is 24U the better choice?
Count your units first: 24U gives 42 in of mounting height, so it works when your day-one load is around 14 to 18 units and you expect to stay under about two-thirds of the rack within a couple of years. Past that point, plan for 42U and its 73.5 in of mounting space instead.
Will a 24U rack fit through a standard doorway?
A standard interior doorway is 30 to 32 in wide, and a 24U cabinet rolls through on its casters as long as the route has no tight turns or narrow stair landings. Check the doorway width and any turns on the route before delivery.
Can a 24U rack be wall-mounted?
A light open frame can, if the wall is solid and the fixings are rated well above the loaded weight. A loaded enclosed cabinet is usually too heavy and too deep to hang safely, so it belongs on the floor.
Which 24U rack should I choose if I need to lock my equipment away?
The Tripp Lite SR24UB is the one to pick when equipment has to be locked, serviced often and cabled neatly. Its front door is locking and reversible, and the side panels are locking and removable, so the gear stays secured while you still get access for service. Numbered square-hole rails and top and bottom cable routing ports keep a frequently serviced rack tidy, and the 1,000 lb rating covers a fully populated rack.