Best 20U Server Rack 2026: Mid-Height Racks for a Growing Small Business
When you buy through the Amazon links on this page, we may earn a commission at no extra cost to you. Learn more
Last updated October 31, 2026
The Echogear EGAV-PROF20 is our top pick for a 20U server rack because its 600 lb floor rating and stackability to 40U let the rack grow with your gear, and it assembles in under 20 minutes. A 20U frame gives you 35 inches (889 mm) of usable mounting height for 19-inch EIA-310 equipment, which suits a small business or home lab with three to five rack devices and room to grow. If you want a documented build and a 3-year warranty instead, the Tecmojo 20U with shelves is the better fit for a first rack.
20U is a mid-size that sits between the common 12U and 22U/24U options, so availability is narrower than at those sizes.
The best 20U server racks for 2026
Echogear EGAV-PROF20 open frame rack
See on Amazon
Tecmojo 20U open frame rack with shelves
See on Amazon
Vevor SPT-504-20A network rack
See on AmazonModel comparison
| Model | Price | Rating | Rack size | Material | Weight | Best for | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Echogear EGAV-PROF20 open frame rack | $229.99 as of 10/31 See on Amazon | ★ 4.7 (1,200+ ratings) | 20U | Alloy steel | not stated | Businesses expecting to add devices and stack a second rack later get a 600 lb floor rating and 40U stacking. |
| Tecmojo 20U open frame rack with shelves | $139.90 as of 10/31 See on Amazon | ★ 4.4 (450+ ratings) | 20U | Alloy steel | 35.4 lb | First-time rack buyers wanting a documented build get a 3-year warranty, manual, drilling template and assembly video. |
| Vevor SPT-504-20A network rack | $119.90 as of 10/31 See on Amazon | ★ 4.4 (100+ ratings) | 20U | Carbon steel | 35.3 lb | Budget buyers whose deepest device needs more than 20 inches of rail space get the deepest frame here at 23 inches. |
| Tecmojo 20U open frame rack with casters | $159.90 as of 10/31 See on Amazon | ★ 4.3 (200+ ratings) | not stated | not stated | 35.4 lb | Businesses that move the rack during setup or between rooms get removable non-skid casters with brakes. |
| Eastrexon 20U open frame rack | $114.99 as of 10/31 See on Amazon | ★ 4.2 (100+ ratings) | 20U | not stated | not stated | Budget buyers with shallow, light gear get swivel casters, two 1U shelves and a 200 lb capacity. |
What 20U actually buys you in usable rack space
Twenty rack units at 1.75 inches each give you 35 inches of rail. In practice, some of that disappears before your first server goes in. A 1U or 2U patch panel, a 1U switch, a 1U PDU, a 1U cable manager and blanking panels for airflow each take a slot. A worked example makes it concrete: a 2U server, a 1U server, a 1U switch, a 1U patch panel, a 2U UPS, a 1U PDU and a 1U cable manager use 9U, leaving 11U free.
That outcome is typical. A 20U rack comfortably holds three to five rack devices plus accessories with room to grow. It is overkill for a single switch and a NAS, which fit in a 12U or 15U frame. The unit is defined by EIA-310: 1U is 1.75 inches (44.45 mm). The 19-inch figure is the equipment front-panel width, not the opening between rails; the clear opening is about 17.75 inches.
Why 20U is the awkward middle of the rack market
20U is a non-standard height in the US market. The common ladder runs 6U, 9U, 12U, 15U, 18U, 22U, 25U, 27U and 42U, and many enclosed-cabinet lines skip 20U entirely. The consequence is fewer off-the-shelf options at this size, more budget open-frame imports, and a real chance you end up choosing 18U or 22U if you want a specific enclosed cabinet.
The usable mounting depth (rail to rail, not the external depth), whether the rails adjust, and the door or frame clearance decide whether a 20U rack works in your room. A 20U rack that fits your gear on paper can still fail on depth or on the space needed to open a door.
How tall and deep a 20U rack is in real rooms
A 20U frame is roughly 35 inches of usable rail plus the frame, top panel and feet or casters, so about 35 to 41 inches overall depending on the model. That is around one meter of rail and a bit over three feet overall. Height is rarely the problem in a small-business room.
Depth is usually the constraint in a closet or back office. Typical 20U racks are 18 to 24 inches deep. A rackmount UPS runs 16 to 28 inches, a 1U server 24 to 32 inches and a 2U server 28 to 34 inches. The rule is the deepest device plus about 3 inches, with rear clearance for cords and a PDU and front clearance for the door and ports. A 20U rack at 20 inches deep is fine for switches, patch panels, shallow 1U servers and AV gear, but not for deep 2U or 4U servers.
Sizing a 20U rack for growth without overshooting
Leave 20 to 30 percent of the 20U free or reserved, which is about 4 to 6U spare. That headroom absorbs the next switch, the next server or a UPS without a re-buy. It argues for 20U over 12U when you have three or more devices now and expect one or two more. It argues for stepping up to 22U or 24U instead when you are already near 16U used, or when you need a deep server plus a UPS plus networking.
Power and heat set a ceiling that the U count does not show. A standard US 15 A / 120 V circuit supports roughly 1.4 kW continuous at the 80 percent rule, and a full 20U rack often hits the circuit limit before the U limit. Plan the circuit and the room cooling alongside the U count.
Where a 20U rack fits in a small business space
A mid-height rack works in an office, closet or stockroom. A loaded 20U rack can weigh 200 to 400 lb, so check the floor and keep the heaviest item at the bottom. An assembled 20U rack is about 35 to 41 inches tall, which clears standard doors, but measure stair turns and the ceiling clearance of the service position before delivery.
Wall-mounting a 20U rack requires studs or concrete anchors, never drywall toggles. The wall load rating on budget racks, often 130 to 200 lb, is usually the binding limit, not the floor rating. Casters are for moving; leveling feet should carry the load once the rack is in place.
Our picks by budget
The Eastrexon 20U is our budget pick because it includes casters and two shelves at the lowest entry cost, which covers a first rack for switches, patch panels and AV gear.
The Tecmojo 20U with shelves is our mid-range pick because its 3-year warranty, drilling template and assembly video make the build predictable for a small business without a rack specialist.
The Echogear EGAV-PROF20 is our premium pick because its 600 lb floor rating, stackability to 40U and sub-20-minute assembly give a growing business headroom and a documented accessory path.
Budget
Mid-range
High-end
Which 20U rack for which buyer
The right 20U rack depends on whether you need casters, a warranty, a deeper frame or room to stack a second rack later.
Tight budget, shallow gear, mobile rack
The Eastrexon 20U includes casters and two shelves at the lowest entry cost, which suits switches, patch panels, AV and shallow 1U gear.
Small business that wants a warranty and a clean build
The Tecmojo 20U with shelves brings a 3-year warranty, a drilling template and an assembly video, and it stacks for expansion.
Growing rack, heavier gear, long-term buy
The Echogear EGAV-PROF20 has a floor rating of 600 lb, stacks to 40U and assembles in under 20 minutes.
Needs casters out of the box
The Tecmojo 20U with casters is the same platform as the shelf version but includes removable braked casters for moving the rack.
Deepest budget option
The Vevor SPT-504-20A is 23 inches deep, which helps when a shallow 1U server or a UPS needs more rail-to-rail space.
Our verdict on the best 20U server rack
The Echogear EGAV-PROF20 is the overall pick for a growing small business: its 600 lb floor rating, stackability to 40U and sub-20-minute assembly suit a rack that will gain devices. The Tecmojo 20U with shelves is the value pick for a first rack with a 3-year warranty and a documented build, and the Eastrexon 20U is the budget pick for shallow, light gear. Before ordering, confirm the usable depth against your deepest device and confirm 20U is available in the form factor you want, since many enclosed lines skip it.
Detailed model analysis
A 20U rack has to fit your deepest device and your floor or wall, so the specs that matter most are usable depth, load rating and what comes in the box.
Echogear EGAV-PROF20 open frame rack
The Echogear EGAV-PROF20 open frame rack suits a business whose gear list keeps growing. It holds 600 lb on the floor. Bolted to a wall, the rating falls to 200 lb, so keep heavy gear on the floor.
You can also stack it up to 40U, so a second rack later gives you double the space.
Open framing lets air move around your gear, and the vented shelves keep that airflow going under whatever sits on them. Two shelves are included, one 1U and one 2U.
The 1U shelf is 15.12 in deep and the 2U shelf is 18 in deep. The frame measures 20.39 in deep and 20.42 in wide. Equipment can be up to 19 in deep, so deeper gear will not fit.
Assembly takes under 20 minutes with the included hardware and a screwdriver. The kit has 4 leveling feet and 25 rack screws. Casters are sold separately if you want to roll it.
Server rails are not included, so you must buy rails for your server brand. It works with Dell, HP, IBM and Cisco gear. It suits small businesses that expect to add devices.
- Brand: Echogear
- Rack size: 20U
- Dimensions: 20.39 in deep, 20.42 in wide and 35 in high
- Material: Alloy steel
- Included shelves: 2 vented shelves
- Color: Black
Tecmojo 20U open frame rack with shelves
The Tecmojo 20U open frame rack suits first-time rack buyers who want a documented build. It comes with a manual, a mounting hole drilling template and an online assembly video.
It carries a 3-year manufacturer warranty, longer than the 1 year on the Vevor SPT-504-20A network rack.
The trade-off is load. It holds 260 lb on the floor and 130 lb on the wall, half the floor figure. For heavy gear, the Echogear EGAV-PROF20 open frame rack is rated for 600 lb on the floor.
You get two 1U ventilated shelves, a top panel and a shelf back support. Four anti-slip shelf stops keep gear from sliding, and four velcro straps come in the box.
The frame weighs 35.4 lb and takes 19 in wide equipment. It stands on the floor or hangs on a wall, and wall mounting needs drilling with the included template. The open frame lets air move around your gear.
It works in offices, retail spaces, classrooms and warehouses, as well as for a home server. Other compatible racks, sold separately, let you stack and expand later.
- Brand: Tecmojo
- Rack size: 20U
- Dimensions: 20.15 in deep, 20.47 in wide and 35.03 in high
- Weight: 35.4 lb
- Material: Alloy steel
- Load capacity: 130 lb wall mounted
Vevor SPT-504-20A network rack
The Vevor SPT-504-20A has the deepest frame of the five, at 23.03 in, so it suits longer devices. It is a 4-post open frame for 19 in wide network and AV equipment, not only servers.
It is rated for 500 lb on the floor, below the 600 lb of the Echogear EGAV-PROF20 open frame rack. Wall mounting drops the rating to 200 lb, so keep heavy gear on the floor.
It weighs 35.3 lb and is built from Q235 carbon steel. The open frame lets you reach ports and devices from several angles, which makes cabling easier.
The box holds two trays, a top panel, a screw set, 16 cage nuts, a grounding wire and a user manual. The top panel gives you extra space for storage.
It suits small offices and shops with deeper network or server gear on the floor. Its maker also describes it for classrooms and home use. The warranty is only 1 year.
- Brand: Vevor
- Rack size: 20U
- Dimensions: 23.03 in deep, 20.08 in wide and 38.58 in high
- Floor load capacity: 500 lb
- Weight: 35.3 lb
- Material: Carbon steel
Tecmojo 20U open frame rack with casters
The Tecmojo 20U open frame rack suits you if you move your rack between rooms. Its removable casters are non-skid and have brakes, so it rolls to a new room and then stays put.
It is rated for 260 lb on the ground and 130 lb when wall-mounted. That sits well under the 600 lb of the Echogear EGAV-PROF20 open frame rack, so very heavy loads belong elsewhere.
You get two 1U ventilated server shelves, a top panel, a shelf back support, four anti-slip shelf stops and four velcro straps.
The frame weighs 35.4 lb. It is a 4-post open frame for 19 in network, audio and video gear, and the open design lets air move around your gear.
A manual, a mounting hole drilling template, mounting screws and an online assembly video help with setup. A 3-year manufacturer warranty covers it. Other compatible racks, sold separately, can be stacked on it for expansion later.
It suits businesses that roll their rack between rooms and stay within 260 lb on the floor.
- Brand: Tecmojo
- Rack height: 20U
- Depth: 20.2 in
- Width: 20.5 in
- Height: 35 in
- Weight: 35.4 lb
Eastrexon 20U open frame rack
The Eastrexon 20U open frame rack is the shallowest and narrowest of the five. It takes 19 in wide stereo, data, AV, IT and computer equipment, and the slim frame suits shallow gear.
Swivel casters let you roll the rack where you need it. It also works free standing or on a wall. The frame is made of alloy steel.
Two 1U rack shelves and 5 ft of hook and loop straps are included. A top platform and a bottom platform add storage space. All five racks include two shelves or trays, so the shelves do not set it apart.
The open, ventilated frame helps dissipate heat from your equipment.
The Tecmojo 20U open frame rack with casters also rolls, but it is deeper and carries a 3-year manufacturer warranty. The Eastrexon is taller than the Vevor SPT-504-20A and narrower than the Echogear EGAV-PROF20.
Its limit is capacity: 200 lb at most. It suits small spaces and light, shallow gear that needs to roll, such as AV or network equipment under 200 lb.
- Brand: Eastrexon
- Rack size: 20U
- Weight capacity: 200 lb
- Dimensions: 19.5 in deep, 18.6 in wide and 41 in high
- Mounting type: Free standing and wall mount
- Mounting hole spacing: 18.35 in
Frequently asked questions
Height, depth and wall-mount limits decide whether a 20U rack fits your room and your gear before any other feature matters.
How tall is a 20U server rack?
The usable rail height is 35 inches (889 mm). Overall height depends on the model, so measure the assembled unit against your ceiling and any overhead obstruction before you order.
How many devices fit in a 20U rack?
Plan on 9U for a typical mix of two servers, a switch, a patch panel, a UPS, a PDU and a cable manager, which leaves 11U free for growth.
Is 20U enough for a home lab or small business?
Yes for two to three servers plus networking gear. A single switch and a NAS need far less room, so a smaller frame covers that setup.
What depth do I need for a 20U rack?
Measure your deepest device first, then allow extra room behind it for cabling and power distribution and in front for the door and ports. Add about 3 inches to that deepest device, and check that the rack's usable rail-to-rail depth covers the total before you order.
Can I stack a second 20U rack on top of the first one later?
Yes, if you pick a rack built for it. The Echogear EGAV-PROF20 stacks up to 40U, so a second 20U frame can go on top as your gear grows, and the Tecmojo 20U with shelves is also stack-and-expand compatible. The Vevor SPT-504-20A and the Eastrexon 20U are not described as stackable, so plan on a taller single frame if you expect to expand.